+34 717 71 28 55
+34 690 02 90 92



Professor of Physical-Chemistry at Oviedo University. Chemistry PhD (1984) and Degree(1980). Further Academic training as Post-doctoral Fellow at Nijmegen University (Holland) (1985- 1987) under Prof. Paul T. Beurskens. Specialization fields: Structure Determination; Crystallography; Diffraction; Molecular Calculation. He is a member and former President of the European Crystallographic Association (ECA) and is a newly appointed Ordinary Member of the International Union of Crystallography Executive Committee.


Professor García Granda has a wide lecturing experience both at Chemistry under-degree and doctoral levels. He also does CLIL lecturing (English & Spanish bilingual courses) at Master’s Degree level both at Oviedo University and Menéndez Pelayo International University.

He holds a 44 H Index  and is the author of  over  500 scientific articles, several book chapters and numberless conference plenary lectures and papers  on  new physical-chemistry materials, molecular structure, crystallography, diffraction and calculation methods].  He has co-authored DirDif’s  crystallography programme, quoted over 3,oo0 times, which has led over  30 research projects, both national and international; national & international  research projects; company agreements and other scientific projects. He is the leader of the Department Analytic Physical-Chemistry SYSTAM Research Group, which in 2001 was acknowledged as “Principality of Asturias Excellence Group”. He is in charge of the infrastructure installation for the ESRF ‘Sincrotrón’ Spanish Line. He has supervised 18 doctoral theses and has been awarded 5 six-year research periods as well as 7 five year lecturing periods.


Professor García Granda was Deputy-Vice-Chancellor for Research from May 2008 to April 2012 at Oviedo University and Executive Secretary of the Spanish Rectors’ Conference I+D Office. He has held a variety of academic posts such as  Secretary of the  Department Physical-Chemistry (1990- 1994); Deputy-Dean of the Chemistry Faculty (1998 – 2008); Coordinator of  the  Evaluation  Committee and President of the Improvement Plan Committee for the Degree in Chemistry and  member of the Committee for the Degree in Chemistry planning in 2008. He was also in charge of the establishment of the X-Ray Diffraction Determination of Crystalline Structures Scientific-Technical Service, which he managed for over 20 years. He was also Coordinator of the Computer and Communication Networks of the Center for Scientific Calculation of the Chemistry Faculty. He has also collaborated in the management and evaluation of MINECO programmes (ExploraProgramme) and of ACSUG programmes. He is the editor, the reviewer and the advisor of several international journals. He is a Fellow of the Real Sociedad Española de Química (Crystallography and Crystalline Growth fields –being Former President of the latter) y also a Fellow of the British Crystallographic Association.